Elliott Cup

Law students within the Fifth Circuit have a winning tradition at the Duberstein Bankruptcy National Moot Court Competition held annually in New York.  The Elliott Cup regional competition has prepared law students from Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi law schools for the national competition since 2005. Elliott Cup is sponsored by the Texas Bankruptcy Section, honoring the late Joseph C. Elliott, U.S. Bankruptcy Judge for the Western District of Texas. 

The recurring success (sometimes domination) at the national competition is dependent on lawyers and judges that volunteer at Elliott Cup, which is usually held in mid-February.  Participating lawyers are also invited to attend the Team Dinner at the end of the competition.

The 2019 Elliott Cup is set for February 15-16 in Downtown Dallas! If you would like to learn more about the Elliott Cup competition or would be interested in volunteering as a judge at the competition, please contact Jessica Lewis at jessica.lewis@judithwross.com.

2018 Team Results:

1st Place: SMU Dedman School of Law

(Alex Cohen, Emma Persson, Alex Rahn)

 2nd Place: SMU Dedman School of Law

(Michael Creme, Gina Mills, Alexa Naumovich)

 3rd Place: Baylor Law

 3rd Place: Wayne Law


2018 Oral Advocate Awards:

 1st Place: Kevin Miller, Baylor Law

 2nd Place: Alexa Naumovich, SMU Dedman School of Law

 3rd Place:  Alexander Cohen, SMU Dedman School of Law

 4th Place:  Emma Persson, SMU Dedman School of Law