Young Lawyers Committee

 

Bylaws

 

About Us

The Young Lawyer Committee of the Bankruptcy Section of the State Bar of Texas exists to increase the involvement and profile of young attorneys and turnaround professionals involved in bankruptcy and reorganization practice in Texas.  The Committee helps organize and host seminars geared to young professionals, and provides speaking and participation opportunities in statewide continuing legal education seminars.  It also organizes networking events throughout Texas for consumer and business professionals, giving young attorneys excellent opportunities to meet turnaround professionals, other attorneys, and members of the judiciary.  Committee members participate in organizing and running the annual Elliott Cup Bankruptcy Moot Court, have composed an informational pamphlet in partnership with the Texas Young Lawyers Association geared towards consumers contemplating filing bankruptcy, and have been involved in numerous other worthwhile projects.  A part of the Bankruptcy Section of the State Bar of Texas, the Young Lawyers Committee meets monthly via telephone and in person when possible.

All young attorneys with a bankruptcy or reorganization practice, debtor or creditor, business or consumer, urban or rural, are eligible for membership and welcome to join us and get involved!  Please contact any current member or myself if you are interested in joining our Committee.

Joshua P. Searcy, Attorney
Searcy & Searcy, P.C.
446 Forest Square (75605)
P.O. Box 3929
Longview, Texas 75606
903-757-3399
903-757-9559 Fax
joshsearcy@jrsearcylaw.com

TexasBarCircle – SBOT Young Bankruptcy Lawyers Committee

 

Message from the Chair

The Young Lawyers Committee of the Bankruptcy Section of the State Bar of Texas is organized and underway!  The goals for our Committee are:  (1) increasing the involvement of young professionals on all committees, projects and seminars of the Bankruptcy Section; (2) promoting participation of young professionals in CLE Seminars; (3) interacting with Section Officers on young professionals issues; and (4) organizing networking events for young lawyers and other bankruptcy professionals throughout Texas.

The Young Lawyers Committee meets monthly via telephone and in person when possible.  Our membership is growing and we would like to involve as many young professionals as possible to make our Committee a strong part of the Bankruptcy Section this year.  Please send me an e-mail if you are interested in joining our Committee.

Christopher Bradley-Chair- Taube Summers/Austin

Charlie Shelton – Vice Chair/Texas AG

Liaison – Consumer Division – Sean Flynn  ‘sflynn@fnlawfirm.com‘;

 

Liaison – Communications – Megan Clontz and Caitlyn Wells  ‘megan@akbpc.com‘ ‘caitlyn@akbpc.com

 

Liaison – Law School Relations – Jordan Lewis  ‘Jordan_Lewis@txnb.uscourts.gov

 

Liaison – Professional Education – Brian Cumings ‘BCumings@gdhm.com

 

Liaison – Non-Lawyer Outreach – Mike Juniper  ‘mjuniper@deloitte.com

 

Liaison – Business Division – Christopher Murphy ‘Christopher.murphy@texasattorneygeneral.gov

 

Liaison – Public Education – Meggie Gilstrap  ‘Meggie.Gilstrap@bakerbotts.com

 

Liaison – Membership – Becky Petereit  ‘rpetereit@velaw.com

 

Comments are closed.



Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can
take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...